So a week or so ago I went on a Tillith Binge on youtube and bookmarked several of her videos to try myself.  My results are nothing like hers, and I have a lot of work to go, but I’m satisfied.

The first video ‘NEBULA STUDY‘!

(sorry some of these are out of sequence, i’m working from mobile and WP won’t let me rearrange them :\)

Just looking at her finished product and mine you can see at some point I just forgot I was trying to learn from what she did, and started doing my own thing.  That’s good and bad.  I feel less like a copy cat, but I didn’t end up being able to study her method.  I realized after the fact that a lot of sections I should have worked wet on wet, but you live and you learn.  Everything here is wet on dry.

The Other video I watched was her ‘Aurora/Nightsky Bookmarks

I didn’t do a separate work for this one.  Actually if you go back and look at my nebulas, the bottom most one that looks kinda like a van Gogh wanna be instead of what she originally put there was what I wanted to paint trees on.  I didn’t like the house and intended not to paint it, but the third galaxy down just ended up way too much like the aurora.

IMG_6323

Houses don’t do it for me though, so I wasn’t going to put a happy little prairie cabin under the aurora.  I checked out a couple different structures before deciding on a silhouette of a Byzantine church I saw on Google.  If I was more daring I would have put a little golden rose window on there too, but I’m not daring.

So for the rest of the evening I pondered what I could do with the other two and no ideas hit me, so I cut them all out and called them bookmarks.

Sitting down I continued doodling, trying to think of another idea to paint or finish these with

I should have known better than to think I could come up with anything good when I wasn’t in the mood and getting tired, but I continued none the less.

IMG_6348

Lo and behold! I messed up! Thankfully, my half asleep mistakes are easily remedied, though I should not have fixed them half asleep.  You’d think I’d learn my lesson about sleepy painting.

IMG_6351

It’s as if it never was! Thank goodness it was on a dark section!

Then I realized,

IMG_6353

I can’t use this as a bookmark, I need to mat it with this purple squiggle I painted!

Isn’t it always that after hours and hours of working, trying to come up with something, you start to realize what it is you want to do only after it’s way past production hours and you have work the next morning?

signature.2.small

Leave a Reply

