IMG_5789

When out carving the bark off branches for wands, you feel suspiciously like Buffy the vampire slayer. Mr. Pointy, is that you?

IMG_5790

It was warm and sunny out today so I was able to pull out the miter and start with nice clean edges.

IMG_5791

My first idea was to put some metal on one of the wands.  Rings sounded fun.  It ended up looking a lot more like piercings because of how big they were though.

IMG_5799

I decided to keep it 100% wood so I could stain it and make it look more natural, so for the handle I did twisted leather.  It really drove home the idea of piercings, but it’s fun.  I was originally going to use a thin leather chord and tightly wind it, but it didn’t do anything for me, so I swapped to this. I’m not really satisfied with the end result, but that’s what the next wand’ll be for right? I still have 3 more sticks prepped.

For the other I used the Dremel to carve the winding vine through it. Please don’t say what you think It looks like. I know, and this one may never make it off the desk unless it looks different finished.

IMG_5795

If you remember this guy from my last post, I gave him another coat of paint and some wax and I think he’s cute.  If I had more beads I would have given him a snitch charm, but you work with what you have, right?

IMG_5794

I do love how comfortably it fits in my hand though.

Tomorrow, if I can manage to leave my house and deal with real live people on my day off, I’m thinking of picking up some supplies to display them attractively.

IMG_5800

TA DA! A few WIPS and 2 virgin sticks for tomorrow. Oh, and my Banana. I was storing it on the ledge, it seemed to fit in.

signature.2.small

3 thoughts on “More Harry Potter Wands!

Leave a Reply

