Draw this Again – Underpainting

Finally a warm sunny day off.  Sun blazing in my tiny basement window I rolled out of bed, and hoisted my artwork to the studio for some underpainting.

IMG_5785

IMG_5786

If there’s one thing I’ve learned through all my silly mistakes, it’s to start with the background.  Oh the struggles I’ve had to fix when a background goes wrong and messes up hours of meticulous work. Slapping down a black circle I set out to slapping down some colour.

It’s been at least a year since I’ve done any painting other than watercolour, and 8 years since I tried using acrylic.  Taking a deep breadth I hoped that I could figure out how to blend and move the material before it dried too quickly.

IMG_5787

Upon initially setting down pigment though, I discovered a different dilemma.  Yeah the paint is giving me a hard time drying too fast, but it also covers up my lines more than I thought it would.  An obvious statement when said out loud, but I still had to free hand the nose, mouth, and eyes back in where I could sort of see the lines. Tomorrow’s quest is to start fixing some of the worse shapes. I can’t do anything without natural light.

IMG_5801

Off to the side you go blue lady.  I’ll deal with you later.

signature.2.small

One thought on “Draw this Again – Underpainting

  1. I actually think she is looking wonderful! :-) she is already a lot different than the first you painted, but I think that’s okay. Beats as artists, in time our styles may change (or improve). Looking forward to more posts! :-)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

