It’s not home if it’s not homemade

When I was a child I always put my mother’s knitting needles in my hair like ancient Chinese hair pins.  I now know why it made her so mad.  I first asked my mother to teach me how to knit when I was 10, but I called it sewing, so I got signed up for embroidery lessons. Finally, at 18 I picked up a book and taught myself.  I still have my first crippled little sample, dropped stitches, awkward increases and all.  It took me a decade to finally get around to learning, but oh I’m so glad I did.

Ignoring the fact I ended up using crochet in my Senior show at university and the topic for all my presentations in education courses, I love the different yarn arts because it gives me more opportunities to customize my home.

At the moment I work in new home sales, and it shocked me to learn that when people buy the models home, they’ll often buy the furniture in it! Why would you want the furniture someone else picked out? It’s not selected to match your favorite comforter, it doesn’t look great next to your grandmother’s mirror, it doesn’t speak of you as a person at all.  It’s like living in a hotel! All it is, is pretty. Okay, okay, okay, you live a busy life and would rather sit down with a glass of wine and watch the bachelor in your perfect house after work than sink into the chair that supports your back perfectly with a bowl of black bean soup and watch firefly reruns.  That floats your boat. You do you, meanwhile I’ll do me.  And me involves handmade items.

I’ve made blankets, I made coasters, I made trivets, pot holders, scarves, hats, dolls, you name it! For some reason though I always avoided dish rags.  I think I avoided them because the idea of spending hours painstakingly crocheting a beautiful pattern only to dip it in pasta sauce and curdled milk causes me pain.

I’m not a fast worker and I get distracted easily, so sometimes i get lost is stitch counting and colour changes, and by sometimes, read always. However the other day I found this pattern that’s not only quick but economic. So here’s where I first saw it on life after laundry, however (as she also links) the pattern itself is from Crochet n more

This pattern only takes me about 2.5 hours (probably less given that these are my first two and so naturally I’ll work slower), uses about half a skein of sugar and creme yarn, and looks so cute to boot.
IMG_5757

 

IMG_5758

 

Once I’ve made enough of them, have thoroughly bored myself to death, and have a huge stack that I’ve stared at till the cows come home then maybe I’ll d some colour changes and cute borders. Inevitably I’ll get too flamboyant and they’ll no longer be practical, then I’ll cry.

 

signature.2.small

Leave a Reply

