So the other week I was at Anthropologie and took pictures of everything I saw of interest (as per usual) and the other night while going through my stash of images, deleting them and making room for new ones on my ancient phone, I saw these guys

anthro

Now, I hate this product.  It looks trashy to me, but I love the constellations. I needed to put little zodiac constellations on things.

All night long I thought about punching holes and putting on shiny brads, or using embossing powder to make raised shapes. Well, this morning I woke up and looked at my makeshift palette and saw how tall the gold acrylic paint stood on its own.

IMG_5699

What if I just. . . . blobbed it on?

Off to the printer I went and printed off some copies of a galaxy I already painted. Dotted the paint right out of the bottle and it looks pretty cute. . . ish.

IMG_5696IMG_5698

We’ll see how it dries. patience.  Patience.  Patience.  I think I can. I think I can. I think I can.

Alright, so an hour or two later I go to check on them, and I should have seen this coming.

IMG_5706

DOUGHNUTS. Alright all you experienced paint dollopers, stop laughing. Though it just hit me, I could do like a clay eye and dollop a smaller bit of a colder gold in the center and put varnish over the whole dollop after it’s dry. Kinda give  it a radiating . . . . target . .. .pattern. I think I’ll test it out on my sample dollops first.

IMG_5707

So once these guys are dry I’ll have to figure out the best way to connect them.  Now you may be sitting there saying “duh, just paint a line” BUT I HAVE BAD LUCK PAINTING LINES. I don’t know what it is, no matter how much paint I have, no matter how think I make it, I always blob or run out and my lines are not pretty. I have a gold gel pen, but it’s a yucky shade of gold.  Maybe I’ll use my gold acrylic ink? It kinda flows like ink, and I’m good at ink lines. but it’s not the best ink in the world (speedball) and sometimes doesn’t give me the best coverage.

Bonus point if you know more about astronomy than me and can tell what constellations these are from my quick dotting.

So the end of the day though this is something really easy and enjoyable.  If only I could still get my employee discount on circular mats . .  .

POST THOUGHT:  I cannot unsee this now. I just realized the doughnuts kinda also look like tiny fedoras.

signature.2.small

2 thoughts on “Some Zodiac Galaxies, for good measure

Leave a Reply

