I may have a ton of animation rolling around in the back of my head

As most of the world starts their weekend I wanted to share 3 of my favorite animated films both for art and story. Animation has always had a strong influence on my artwork, and these ones are particularly memorable in my books. They’re not small unknown movies, so chances are you’ve already seen them, but if it’s been a while I recommend a rewatch over the next few days.

Treasure Planet:

Basically Treasure island, but in outer space. Somehow this movie didn’t hit it off with all the little boys out there and many people look at you like you have 6 heads when you quote it, but the out space scenes are BEAUTIFUL. So is Jim’s glider, and the ship’s engines, and just everything.

 

Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron

Let me preface this with, I don’t like animal books/movies, but Spirit is wonderful.  Music, landscape, art style, it all flows perfectly together with a fun little plot about a wild horse and a Native American Indian.

 

Brother Bear:

 

Kinda more of a classic Disney venue, but a movie I could have on repeat all day while I’m working. Visually, the spirits and northern lights are beautiful, but the plot’s fun and predicable as well. The really rounded style and lineart kinda remind me of Lilo and Stitch, so I’d be curious to know how much animator crossover there was.

and just because I can’t mention the lights without showing them.

Leave a Reply

