Everything’s always on Hiatus

If you know me or have followed any of my work you’ll know one thing: something’s always on Hiatus.  That blanket I started junior year of college? I graduated 2 years ago, it’s half finished. I worked on it for 2 weeks last month though.  That Family embroidery I started for a Christmas present last year? I have 2/7 people, but I bet I can finish it by the time my Dad gets back to the States. That Watercolour painting of the Fish? I actually picked it back up again!

So I broke the rules.

I know.

I’m bad.

I painting the subject before the background, then, fearful of messing everything up, put it away for a few months. Well, I finally got it back out again. And guess what. I messed it up!

IMG_4860

I made test samples, tried out the blending and control of all my mediums before I put brush to paper, but everything behaved differently when it came to time to work on my actual product. I wanted to hang my head in defeat. Can’t mess it up any worse right?

I grabbed out my handy dandy everything I had brought with me and got to work.

IMG_4861

You know what, I think I fixed it too.

IMG_4859

IMG_4858.JPG

Lesson learned: don’t take a forever Hiatus because you’re afraid of messing it up. You’ll mess it up anyways, but it’s never permanent. It’s always fixable.

Still not done but getting there!

IMG_4876

IMG_4885

Next potential hiatus causer on this piece: should I add white patterns in on top of the blue or let it be just solid colour?

Leave a Reply

